We Have To Go Back

Okay people, we are officially nearing the end. I have 3 more days left of work and then 2 weeks of play! My last few weeks will be spent enjoying the sun, eating at new restaurants, overloading on hummus and pita, and nursing a few dreadful hangovers. I am really excited to go home and see all my family and friends, but I am also very sad to leave. When I signed up for this program, I had no idea what to expect. I wanted it to be amazing, but I had my doubts (especially with my less than stellar start to the trip). Four and a half months later, I can say with all my heart that it has been amazing. This experience has truly been unforgettable. I met lifelong friends, made incredible memories, and grew as a person. I also took my internship very seriously, because I wanted it to help my career aspirations. And, I am proud to announce that all my hard work has paid off. I was offered a full-time position at their New York office!!! An official decision has not been made, but stay tuned!

To catch you up on all my shenanigans since my last post, I guess I’ll start with the music festival. A few close friends and I went to SunBeat, which was probably one of the strangest music festivals I have ever been to, but also one of the coolest. It was SO Israeli and we loved it. We camped out in the Jordan River Park (for all you Birthright people, this is the place where you raft  float through the Jordan River). The music was a mix of global beats, local DJs, and live jam bands. We danced the night away and it was transcendent.

SunBeat Music Festival

Sunbeat Music Festival

The next week, we said goodbye to one of our roommates, Danny. He had to leave early, and we sent him off with a delicious dinner at this place called Rak Basar, which translates as Only Meat. It truly is only meat. You walk up to a counter of meats and pick a cut that you want. I chose kebabs and they were so good! The following night, a bunch of friends and I went to one of our favorite clubs, Pasaz. We ended the night (or should I say morning) watching the sunrise on our roof. It was one of those cliche nights that you will never forget.

For lunch on Friday we went to the Yemenite quarter of Tel Aviv (very close to the Carmel Shuk) and got one of the best meals I’ve ever had. The hummus and special yemenite bread was incredible. I am definitely going back there before I leave!

On Sunday, we left for a program trip up North. We went on a beautiful hike followed by rafting/floating/kayaking down the Jordan River. We stayed overnight at a Kibbutz and then went to Tzfat in the morning. I got more Yemenite food and shopped, of course. I also bought a lovely painting from this Kabbalah artist, Avraham. It is an abstract picture of the shofar sounds. I can’t wait to hang it up in my new apartment, wherever that will be.

Kabbalah Artist

Kabbalah Artist

The more I reflect on my time here, the more I’m going to miss this place. There is so much more I want to see and do. At least I got a really nice taste of Israel.  I can’t stop time, but I can go back (one day).

Enjoy my LOST reference ~

From my screen to yours,

Carlie

Leave a Reply

